top of page
Search
  • Meg Hibbs

Top Five: Stress Management

Something we often do not talk about is how mentally taxing school is. As I finish up my time at Madonna, I realize just how important every single grade is. I recently received the worst grade I have received in college. It was extremely upsetting. I could lie and say it was humbling, but really, it just made me feel terrible about myself. A variety of things yielded this result. I am working on my senior project for one degree, I am compiling qualitative research for another, and I am taking an extremely challenging course.


Unfortunately, I managed to overbook myself. I’ve had a really hard time managing my schedule. First and foremost, I think things are going to take way less time than they actually do. Second, I am looking for a big girl job whilst juggling five part time positions. Third, I have a romantic relationship that means more to me than anything else. Fourth, I prioritize my familial relationships, especially my parents. Sadly, my friendships have been suffering because I am so “busy.”


I come home at the end of the day feeling exhausted, drained, and emotional. I have breakdowns at random times because I am sleep deprived from having to stay up late (working on school). I have a hard time keeping track of everything, so I often make plans, only to have to cancel them.

With all of the graduation festivities rapidly approaching, I realize I need to prioritize my mental health. I do not need to be miserable at 20 years old. Luckily, with only a month and a half left, I can see the light at the end of the tunnel. This is extremely motivating for me. Being a perfectionist makes things, even very small tasks, seem insurmountable at times. So, with all that being said, here are a few things I’m going to start doing to make sure that my GPA doesn’t run my life.


1. Go to the gym

I tried to go to the gym six times a week. It is my favorite form of stress relief. No matter what type of exercise you prefer, it is important to do something every single day. This could be walking your dog, doing yoga, lifting weights, are you then jumping rope. Moving your body is a great way to keep your mental health in check.


2. Go on dates

Going on a date a week, typically out to dinner, is my favorite thing to do. It gives us the opportunity to grow closer to one another and talk about what happened that week. I am so happy that I found Shane. He is my rock, he listens to me, and he takes care of me. By keeping with this routine, we can continue to support each other, especially during difficult times.


3. Wind down at night

I love baths, so I try to take one about an hour before bed. Also, whenever I consistently read about 15 minutes before bed, I sleep far better and for far longer. It also helps me clear my mind so I’m not laying in bed thinking about what tomorrow holds. Looking at our phones and then going straight to sleep is never the answer.


4. Spend time with family

Family is everything, and I need to make sure that I do not work stress or anxiety from my studies given the way of spending time with them. Relationships cannot thrive if you do not put the time in.


5. Go to church

When I pour myself into my spiritual life, I feel centered and peaceful. By devoting more time (going to stations of cross, journaling weekly, and praying daily), as opposed to just attending mass on Sundays, I find myself leaning on God when things get tough.


I went through a mindfulness and meditation phase, and I kind of want to get back into it. When things get really complicated or something is stressful, it is so helpful to just take a deep breath and remember that whatever it is will pass! Take a deep breath, and remind yourself, this situation is (most likely) temporary. If you are also experiencing stress from academics, just know that you’re not alone. School does not go on forever, unless you’re one of those people who loves learning and wants to take classes for the rest of their lives… Lean on your loved ones, and take care of yourself!

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page