top of page
Search
  • Madonna University Community

Write-Your-Heart-Out Round Robins

These round robins were written by the Madonna community for MU Pen's Valentine's Day event, Write-Your-Heart-Out!


The last thing I expected while studying in the Madonna library was for Cupid to  burst into the room, feverishly shooting arrows while singing the Beatles’ “All You Need is Love.” Immediately, I packed up and left. Because my only love at the moment is myself. Cupid didn’t let me escape, he shot me right in the heart but it bounced off.

 

  ---


As I opened my backpack, I was surprised to find a mysterious pink-and-red gift box and note inside…the gift box contained a ring and the note was from my best friend who proposed to marry me (as a joke). Little did the know that I had a ring for them, too, to proposal at dinner (not as a joke). And now that sucked, because I now had to find another way to bring up my proposal so they won’t think I’m joking. I took my problem to Reddit, I hoped that some socially adept Redditor would know what to do.

 

  ---

 

Cruzer was anxiously waiting at a table in the Take 5 for his Valentine’s date to arrive, a bouquet of yellow and blue roses in one hand…so I decided to sit with him while he waited because it looked like he had been waiting for awhile.

 

  ---

 

I stood watching the Mardi Gras parade, hoping to catch beads thrown from the floats, when I saw something else being thrown…my friend Cruzer, which was surprising, because he’s the last thing I would be expecting from a parade float. He began throwing himself at the crowd, and people began to scream. An uncanny, humanoid mascot was launching himself at mach speed. The crowd disperses but three figures remained, ready to fight Cruzer. Sparty, the MSU mascot and two turkeys approached the disaster.

 

 ---

 

I was in my kitchen, preparing the perfect dish to bring to the Madonna Friendsgiving later that night when I heard a loud, raptor-like screech. I opened the door and saw a T-Rex at the door holding a questionable box. “These better be pecan pies—not burnt this time,” I grumbled, gesturing for him to come in.

 

“No, it’s actually barely mildly burnt chicken pot pie,” Rexy roared back.

 

 Just then, there was another knock on the door accompanied by a chorus of maniacal giggles. It was the stegosaurus triplets, and the middle one was carrying a box, saying, “Rexy! We got your unburnt chicken pot pie!”

 

 “Oh perfect! Thanks!” Rexy said, turning to face them—but as he did, he tripped, causing the box in his hands to fly in the face of Tony Pterodactyl as he soared in the door over the heads of the stegosaurus triplets; Tony, with pie in his eyes, screamed, “CRASH LANDING!!!!! Protect the blueberry muffins I brought!!!” Suddenly, a speed demon came and snatched the blueberry muffins, and landed gracefully, just as Tony crashed and tumbled. Immediately, the stegosaurus babies started asking the speed demon to give them piggy-back rides.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page