top of page
Search
  • Meg Hibbs

Top Five: Mackinac Island

This post was graciously shared with us from Megan's shared website with Shane, Shane & Meg. If you like what you see here, visit their website--they have some truly amazing articles and videos to share!


Mackinac Island is the ideal July day trip. There is so much to do on this quaint, yet charming island! This was my third visit to Mackinac, with the first being a family trip, and the second being a best friend trip. Previously, I had stayed in Mackinac City and the Island House, respectively. However, this time around, Shane and I opted for the more economical option, driving there and back (8 hours roundtrip!) instead.


Star Line (or Mackinac Island Ferry Company) will take you from Mackinac City to the island; our specific tour even went under the Mackinac Bridge! The boat was buzzing with excitement. Here are my top five recommendations for things to do during your time on this picturesque Lake Huron gem.


  1. Carriage ride – We took the carriage taxi from downtown (located just across the street from the Star Line ferry drop to the Governor’s mansion). It was truly such a blast; we would not have been able to see as much of the island had we been on foot or bike. I highly recommend starting the day with this, as you will decide which parts you would like to revisit. There is also an option to get off at Ft. Mackinac if you choose.

  2. Arch rock – This was a stop on our carriage tour; I remembered walking back to the formation with my parents. I will say, horse and buggy made for a much more enjoyable experience! Shane and I took some cute photos in front of the rock, which is an island staple. The water is a gorgeous Caribbean blue from this vantage point.

  3. Fudge demonstration – My family prefers Ryba’s Fudge over Murdick’s, a great debate on the island. However, we stopped in the latter for an amazing fudge-making session. Surprisingly, the bakers were extremely talented entertainers; they made their craft into an experience, even giving us warm, delicious samples along the way.

  4. Lunch – I went to the Watercolor Café with my best friend, Alyssa, and it left a mark on me. I had to go back with Shane! I tried the chicken salad wrap, and it was DELICIOUS. They also serve drinks, smoothies, acai bowls, and breakfast. Their souvenirs are adorable, and they even host DIY watercolor art classes throughout the summer season!

  5. Dinner – The Pink Pony is another spot I have frequented more than once! The food is delicious, the service is impeccable, and the views are unbeatable. This is the perfect way to end your trip, as it is located near the ferry departure site for Star Line! I recommend sitting outside on the covered patio. If you have time to spare, the restaurant has a designer pink-themed boutique.

If you liked this post, please check out our YouTube video documenting the trip.



We highly recommend Mackinac!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page