top of page
Search
  • Meg Hibbs

Top Five: How to Nail a Job Interview

I had my first ever “big girl” interview, meaning, I put on a suit, actually brushed my hair, and had to sell myself. I was applying to be a long-term substitute teacher for Brother Rice High School. Granted, I have no teaching experience, but one of my professors passed on the posting, so I was hoping for the best. I ended up being offered a normal substitute position on the spot, and I have to wait a week or so to hear if I will be there for the month of May. I was not fully prepared for the interview, so I thought I would give a few tips as we move closer to graduation in May. Remember, they’re lucky to have you, too!


1. Dress for success

It is so important to feel your best! Confidence is key, and the last thing you want is to feel undressed or uncomfortable.


2. Be yourself

My boyfriend told me this beforehand, so I can’t take too much credit. If this particular job is the perfect fit, they will love you, the real you!


3. Have a defense

I received a lot of questions regarding my age and lack of teaching experience. Take a good look at your resume, and be ready to defend yourself.


4. Don’t fidget

This is much easier said than done, but no working professional wants to hire someone who is sweating profusely or shaking their leg. Relax, they’re people too.


5. Say you’re excited

Some may disagree with this, but it has always worked for me. This is not a Tinder date. Do not play hard to get! Let the interviewer know you are jazzed about this opportunity.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page