top of page
Search
  • Meg Hibbs

Time Management

A few weeks ago, I pictured myself casually stepping into the new semester. Unfortunately, the abrupt end to summer has felt more like a freefall plummet. Time management is something I have always been pretty dang good at, despite my incessant forgetfulness. However, I feel as though I am falling behind academically, failing to keep track of my commitments, struggling to make financial strides, and spending less time with family. Nonetheless, I have successfully managed a similar workload since I was about 14. I have had a lot of practice juggling work, school, and family; this year, I have also added a boyfriend and even more streams of income to the mix. Here are a few guidelines I follow when I find myself overwhelmed with a hectic calendar.


  1. Pray about it. Centering myself in God helps me to remember that a busy schedule is not the end of the world. Oftentimes, it is a blessing because it is leading you towards career goals, allowing you to spend time with loved ones, or granting you opportunities for growth. Granted, appointments and errands can feel like a chore, but I find solace in the Lord when I am feeling overwhelmed.

  2. Create a block schedule. Intentionally blocking out my day reminds me of what needs to be done, and when. It is also a great way to maximize productivity by setting realistic, yet fast paced goals for specific tasks. For example, if you need to run into Target for some laundry detergent, give yourself 10 minutes to do so, instead of 30, which will save you both time and money.

  3. Set alarms. I struggle with this one, but every time I set an alarm, whether it be to clock out for my remote job, or have a snack break, I find myself feeling in control of my day, as opposed to feeling stressed or anxious. Having a reminder go off on your phone makes you stop what you are doing and consciously think about why it is going off, and what needs to be done.

  4. Use a planner. I do not necessarily write out syllabi at the beginning of the semester given that the schedules are tentative, but I do write down big due dates in pencil, as well as courses that meet synchronously. It is easy to make arrangements that overlap with mandatory tasks, such as attending lectures or going to work, when you do not have them catalogued.

  5. Make time for yourself! It is important that we all carve out a little “me” time. I just planned a trip to see my best friend who goes to the University of Florida. We are taking a car ride to Savannah, GA in October. I used my calendar to see when I was free, and decided to treat myself. Planning a little day trip or outing will give you something to look forward to during the grind!


Feel free to leave some of your own tips in the comments section below!








5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page