top of page
Search
  • Meg Hibbs

Modern Minimalism: Creating a Capsule Wardrobe

"YOUR CLOSET LOOKS LIKE A STORE..."

"YOUR CLOSET IS BIGGER THAN MY BEDROOM..."

"YOUR CLOSET IS ENORMOUS..."


Every person who saw my closet, whether it be a friend, a family member, or one of the kiddos I babysit, said some variation of the statements above. First of all, I realize this entire article will most likely make me sound like an entitled brat. However, other than Christmas presents and hand-me-downs, I bought the vast majority with my own money. Basically, I am a *recovering* shopaholic who thought that having a gargantuan closet made me a cool person. Now I know 50k random shirts left me broke and unfulfilled.


Tidying Up with Marie Kondo on Netflix had me feeling inspired, and I decided it was time to take a serious look at my own clothing. This was no easy task, because apparently I am also a sentimental hoarder. I love anything I can wear. Retail therapy was my favorite way to cope with a rough exam, a long day at work, or an argument with a loved one.


I decided it was time to change. I have spent the past month or so researching easy ways to begin living a more minimalistic lifestyle since I am going to be moving out in the next year, and I need to find new ways to save/make money in the meantime. There is also no room for 50k shirts in a one-bedroom apartment.


Quickly, I realized I would have a full-blown panic attack if I had to get rid of everything at once. So, slowly but surely, I began selling (Plato's Closet and Poshmark), donating (St. Vincent DePaul bins at church), gifting (friends), and throwing out (the stained ugly tees) my clothes. I have no idea why I accumulated so much, or how for that matter, but let me tell you, it feels LIBERATING to get rid of things. My quality of sleep even improved?? I was not expecting that, but it was much appreciated.


YouTube suddenly became my best friend, and I watched a ridiculous amount of videos on decluttering and organizing. I have OCD, so the organization part was a riot. Last week, my dad walked into my closet and said, "It looks like you moved out, and this is what you left behind." That was the goal, Dad. Thank you.


With the money I made, I bought a few new pieces, and even started thrifting for the first time. Now, when I step into a store, I have a purpose, meaning I have a specific article of clothing in mind. I have no problem leaving empty handed. If I am looking for a plain black cardigan and do not find one, then I do not get a pink one just for giggles. I am so grateful for this change, and it has me feeling closer to God as a result. I feel more in touch with my spirituality and less attached to the material world. I truly think I have a better grasp on the things that really matter in life, such as pursuing my faith and working on my relationships.


So, come to find out, my shopping addiction created an unsustainable way of life that drained my bank account. It left me feeling extremely overwhelmed in the mornings; decision fatigue is real! And again, fast fashion is not the best for the environment... Getting rid of articles that do not fit, that you do not love, or that you NEVER wear can put some money in your pocket. They can also leave you feeling pretty dang good about yourself for having given them to those in need, such as donating to Salvation Army, St. Vincent DePaul, or Goodwill. I already have encouraged a few girlfriends, even my momma, to take the leap and begin this lifestyle change, which I am so excited about.


Lastly, my mom helped me start my own business, Declutter in a Day, where I organize closets and help people live a more simply! I hope this article leaves you contemplating which pieces deserve to stay in your wardrobe, and which pieces can go. Next week, I will be writing an article on must-haves for your new capsule.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page