top of page
Search
  • Daniel Gherman

Losing the Lost

The night is nigh.

And I know that I will soon sigh,

As I have been forgotten by your eye.

Left by your gaze for some other.

While I try to merely flutter.

Now, you soar with such great finesse, And I am left without one to caress.

As I recall and do believe.

You were not mean, and I was not bad.

What was wrong with what we had?

Today, a little bird made it known to me that you have fallen ill in a time of need.

These last few years have not been so kind, some say that you will soon die.

Let it be known that on that day, I too will cry.

By your side, I may not be, but in my thoughts, you persist.

For I cannot resist, the wine of your lips.

The affliction that will claim your life, I as well will feel mine wane.

To be no more, without a doubt, but of another kind.

Not of the body, but of the soul, my heart will perish from the memories of you that I cherish.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page