top of page
Search
  • Isabelle Gerhart

I Still See Wings

By Isabelle Gerhart


Hummingbirds,

Memory.

“I knew you.”

“You were once me.”

“I know.

“I came back to see you.”

“You found me.”

Here among the grass,

Brown with age,

Time flies back to me.

I remember being you

When you were me.

I outgrew you,

But you still live inside.

When I step outside

And hear the hum of those wings,

I remember the day I believed in

Impossible.

It was all possible when I looked up at that blue sky.

In my head, the hummingbird comes back,

And I see the memory so clear.

The day my breath was taken away

By the beautiful

Silence

So full of dreams.

It was beautiful.

I was who I was because

I saw miracles in the world.

I am who

I am now because

I still see miracles

When I think about the

Trees

In my mind.

I still see wings.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page