top of page
Search
  • Madonna University Community

Halloween Spooktacular Round Robins

The Writing Center hosts round robins throughout the year, but MU Pen thinks up some fun holiday themed ones for their events. Here are this year's round robins, written by the Madonna University community.


As I wandered through the U-Pick apple orchard, I did not expect to see Sir Isaac Newton sitting beneath one of the trees! He was frantically waiting for inspiration to hit him again as it had all those years ago. I couldn’t resist and pulled out my trusty bow to hit an apple down. Sadly, I missed and stuck an arrow through his leg. I clenched my eyes shut, expecting a horrifying screech to emit from the poor man’s throat, but I was instead met with silence. Sir Newton was looking at me, fangs protruding from his lip. Without a word he stood, plucked an apple from the tree, and walked toward me, slowly digging his fangs into the apple…


--


When I reached into my trick-or-treat bag, I was NOT expecting to feel the slice of a fresh bade scrape against my fingertips. I looked at my hand and saw it was covered in blood. Looking around, I started to lick the liquid off my hand. Tasty. I taste like chocolate, I thought to myself. Dumping the bag on the floor, I watched the blade slice into the floor, which then started to split into a huge crevice…


--


I was trying to find my way through a corn maze when, suddenly, from around the corner jumped a scary monster that ran after me. I tried climbing the walls of the maze but there were spiders in it so I couldn’t. This was because I was scared of spiders but the closer I looked, I found they were thin needles, no thicker than a strand of hair. “I found the needles in the cornstack!” I screamed, grabbing a fistful f them and chucking them at the monster.


--


There is a ghost in the Madonna University residence hall and since we usually go out to lunch every so often I greeted them with a smile and a wave. He told me about the other ghost in the other hall, her name was Marie Curie. She liked to loiter in the Fran and talk to the Forensics and chem students. Marie had a friend named Jasmine who used to work at the college as a janitor until Marie caused the MU turkeys to fatally attack her by haunting them, so that Jasmine could become her ghostly friend.


--


I had just finished raking my yard when suddenly, out of the leaf pile burst muddy swamp water, erupting from the ground like some underground foundation. I started to sink as if it were quicksand when the mud started to coagulate into a 10-foot tall being.


--


I was admiring the WC’s plant shel when, suddenly, smack into the window flew a “bird.” Of course we all know those aren’t real. It must be a baby dragon. They landed on the windowsill, and it was so adorable that I couldn’t help but check if they were okay. It spat out a tiny ball of hair, bones, and feathers. I ran out of the library as fast as I could when I toiled the baby dragon was following me! So I turned to it and said, “Who are you? And where are you from? How did you get inside?” The dragon stopped, proclaiming loudly, “I am Lord Philbert IV of Hogwarts on the planet of Degobah, and Caleb let me in!” Then, Philbert IV asked if I wanted to go to the Olivia Rodrigo concert. We spent the next 3 hours getting ready for the concert. We had matching purple outfits and sparkly eyeshadow. “Uh oh,” said Philbert IV, “I forgot to buy tickets! It’s very hard to do when you don’t have thumbs.” “That’s okay,” I said, “because Lyric Theatre is performing by the lake tonight.” We got to the lake early and set up a spot, when suddenly, bubbles appeared in the center of the lake, and the fountain started to go crazy. “IT’S THE KRAKEN,” someone shouted. “NO YOU DIMWIT! It’s obviously the underdog, or Olivia Rodrigo!” Philbert shouted back.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page