top of page
Search
  • Meg Hibbs

Give Thrifting a Try

Today, I decided to head to my local Salvation Army. I’ve been watching many YouTube videos, which had me feeling inspired. I just finished my second book this year on the concept of sustainable minimalism and both pieces emphasized how shopping second hand can benefit the environment (and your budget!)


I walked in with the intention of buying a circular or rectangular mirror. Unfortunately, I had a hard time finding what I was looking for. The only option was a gaudy gold mirror, and it was $25! I am renovating my grandma’s bathroom on a very tight budget, so in my opinion, this defeats the purpose of purchasing a big ticket item secondhand. While perusing the aisles, I decided to pick up some small decor pieces instead. I found a beautiful watercolor picture that matches her new shower curtain PERFECTLY, as well as two small vases with fake floral stems. Both vases I recognized from Target, and one even had the original tags on it! I will be completing one small DIY project by painting the frame black to match the hardware in the bathroom.


Overall, my advice is to walk into the thrift store with a general idea of an area of your home or a certain piece of decor/clothing, but to be open to anything that may catch your eye! My total was only $10.04, and I was able to pick up pieces I would’ve had to purchase at a later date. I will keep looking for my mirror! Try shopping at your local thrift store the next time you are redecorating your home, and be willing to take on a small DIY to customize your new finds!

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page