top of page
Search
  • Meg Hibbs

5 AM Morning Routine

This post was graciously shared with us from Megan's shared website with Shane, Shane & Meg. If you like what you see here, visit their website--they have some truly amazing articles and videos to share!


Hey everyone!


Shane and I filmed a morning routine video, and I seriously loved it.


My mornings have always been sacred to me- in high school, I used to wake up at the crack of dawn and watch Sports Center while I was getting dressed.


My adult morning routine looks a little different. Growing up, I was not a gym rat by any means. In fact, I did not start working out until my freshman year in college. Now, it is an essential part of my day. Even on “off” days, I try to implement an active rest day, walking on an incline, for instance. There is just something special about moving your body first thing, but for me, it is beyond a want- it's a need. Otherwise, I’m restless, ill-tempered, and stressed. It goes beyond motivation, it is discipline, and it is the best part of my morning.


I am not the only person who values a morning routine, and I wanted to share about someone who has become part of ours. Every day before work, Shane and I go to Panera for the “sip club.” This means we get daily coffee for super reasonable monthly price. We started running into one of his former baseball coaches who is nearly 80 now. Don comes to Panera every morning from 7:30-9 am to read the paper and have his own sip club beverage. One day, I asked him why he enjoys his morning coffee. Don shared with me that he is a widow, and knowing what a sweet man he is, this broke my heart. I’m teary-eyed just writing this. However, Don told me this routine gets him out of bed and forces him to start his day on a positive note. You’ll find him in a crewneck with a collared shirt underneath, smiling brightly, talking to other regulars, and annotating his newspaper. He is a wonderful example of owning the morning and winning the day, a phrase I learned from my old workplace.


Here’s my ideal morning routine! It certainly does not happen every single morning, but honestly, plus or minus up to two items, I’m very consistent the days I go into the office (Mon-Thurs):


Alarm at 5 am


Wake up - wash face/brush teeth/put on gym clothes


Pack - work clothes, food, water, keys, wallet, laptop, books


Gym at 6 am


Cardio - sauna/treadmill or stairs, 20 mins


Lift - train, 50 mins


Get ready - shower/skin care/put on work clothes/drive to Panera, 20 mins


Sip club at 7:30 am - iced coffee for me, hot coffee for Shane


Work at 8 am


Prep - drink iced coffee, read the Bible (currently a chapter of Luke per day), read 10 pages of a non-fiction book, read work emails


Being up before the sun is not possible for everyone (I'm thinking of my friend Lauren, who works night shift as a pediatric oncology nurse). But, when you wake up, no matter the time, take a second for yourself. Do something that makes you happy, and thank God for another beautiful day. We are blessed to be alive, and our time is limited, so practice gratitude. I highly recommend having structure to your mornings! Let me know what your favorite morning habit is!



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page